Create a Shoot

Info

This guide is intended for Project Members who are responsible for creating and managing Shoot clusters. It provides instructions on how to create and delete your first Shoot cluster using the OSC Dashboard.

Prerequisites

Before creating a Shoot, make sure you have:

  • Access to the OSC Dashboard

Shoot Creation

Log into the OSC Dashboard

You can refer to the Accessing your Environment documentation..

osc-dashboard-projects

osc-create-cluster-plus-sign

Enter cluster settings

  • Cluster Name - Every Shoot needs a unique name inside the project.
  • Kubernetes Version - Pick the initial Kubernetes version. You can upgrade later when newer versions become available (downgrades are not supported).
  • Purpose - Describes the importance or intended use of the cluster.
  • Seed - Select a Seed. A hint indicating the Seed capacity appears next to each Seed name.

cluster-name

Select a machine flavor

machine-type

Initiate Deployment

At the bottom of the OSC Dashboard, click the SAVE button to initiate the deployment of the Shoot cluster.

Wait until the Shoot is created.

The creation status is displayed as a spinner icon, showing the overall progress percentage. For more information, you can click the status icon. Shoot creation may take a few minutes. Once the creation is complete, the icon will change to a green check mark.

Accessing the newly created Shoot

In order to access your Shoot cluster, you will need a kubeconfig file. For more information about kubeconfig and how to use it, you can refer to the official kubernetes documentation.

Under your project, select the cluster for which you want to download the kubeconfig.

choose-cluster

Download the kubeconfig file or copy its contents to the clipboard by clicking on the corressponding icon.

get-kubeconfig

Deleting your Shoot

You can delete the Shoot cluster directly from the OSC Dashboard in a single step. If your cluster deletion becomes stuck or fails with an error, please refer to OSC for support.

delete-shoot-dash

Info

Cluster deletion may take a few minutes. During this time, you will see a spinner icon displaying the progress percentage.
Click the icon to view detailed information about each step of the deletion process.

Warning

When you delete a Shoot cluster, please note that all buckets associated with that Shoot will be automatically deleted.
If you wish to retain data from the buckets, please follow the procedure outlined in the S3 Extension section.